Originally built in 1913, the columns and Rotunda were framed in wood and covered with "staff", a mixture of plaster and burlap type fabric. At that time it was the largest building ever to be made of that material. Since it was part of the Exposition and would be removed soon after it ended, this material was only supposed to last a year and then collapse readily. But it remained.
Since the Palace slowly crumbled due to weather and ill use, it was fenced off by the city in the 1940's.
In September 1967 work was complete to restore it to a smaller version of the original Palace. January 1975 saw the remaining original colonnades completed, a gift from Walter S. Johnson.
Striking a pose today it sits regally in the Presidio park area. Saturday it was gorgeous surrounded by tourists and birds.